I’ve decided to start posting these on Tuesdays instead of Wednesdays, for reasons that surely won’t result in an immature joke at the end of this post…. *WINK WINK*

Anyway, let’s GO TEAM MAISIE!

This is Mog.

WP_20160523_003.jpg

Mog is my cat. He was a stray that turned up in my backyard one day; cold, wet and hungry. I fed him and gave him shelter from the cruel, uncaring elements. I love Mog. No one else in this world cares about him and without me he would die.

I tell you this because I have something to say that is so controversial I legitimately fear for my life and am hoping that you will care enough about Mog not to lynch the one person who looks out for him and his adorable little face.

Here goes…

I think the new Ghostbusters film looks good.

(For the love of God think of Mog and his little bean toes. D’awwww ❤ )

WP_20160523_004.jpg

So yeah, Ghostbusters remake. I think it looks alright. Don’t really understand all the hubbub about it. If you’ve had your head in a ditch and don’t know what I’m on about, take a look at the comments on the official trailer, which has officially become the most disliked movie trailer in Youtube history.

Now some have been quick to play the misogyny card to explain the hate and whilst I think that argument does have it’s validations I can’t help but think it’s not all there is to it. Of course anyone who refers to a female-led, mainstream film as “catering to the feminazis” (I feel disgusting just typing that) in an entirely un-ironic manner is a massive cock-end that gets off on oppression and ejaculates hateful rhetoric but surely not everybody in the western world can be that dumb?

Although whilst we’re on the subject of hate-cumming tosspots, any sentence that starts with “I’m not (insert prejudice here) but…” automatically makes you prejudice. It’s a bit like saying “I’m not a pedophile but that three year old enflames my libido like an ant under a magnifying glass.”

………..

What is that about? What is my life? What have I become?  I just… Errghuhguhdgihg….

Anyway, my point is that those who make comments like this are one of two types of people:

  1. A dickhead who needs to catch up with the 21st century.
  2. Somebody who doesn’t really believe what they are saying but has such low self-esteem they say it to get the attention they never get from their mothers who realised a long time ago what kind of shit-bag they raised.

Either way I truly believe the best way to deal with these people is to ignore them and let their pathetic, attention-seeking attempts at upsetting the masses be for nought.

So other than the obvious sexism that I truly believe is only being purported by a very vocal minority, what is it that could cause so much hate for what seems to me like an entertaining looking movie?

Simple nostalgia.

I can understand this to a certain extent, the original Ghostbusters (Dir. Ivan Reitman, 1984) is an absolute cracker. It’s in what I humbly call my SUPERSTAR TOP 5 TAG TEAM of movies. As a kid I enjoyed the bright lights and action elements, then as I got older I began to appreciate the dry humour and screen chemistry of the lead cast. The effects look a little dated at this point but still, great film.

Will the 2016 reboot be as good? Probably not. But looking at the trailer, some of the jokes are funny, the new gear looks great, Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig have good on-screen chemistry together, director Paul Feig has had comedy success with Bridesmaids (2011)- all the elements are there to have a good production.

People are talking like this film will be the lowest point of everything in life when really at worst it will be a mildly funny waste of two hours. You can spend the rest of your life debating whether it should be remade or not, but it is happening and it doesn’t negate how great the original is or erase it from existence. The worst thing I can think to say about it is that it is a cynical attempt to cash in on nostalgic fans, but really ALL remakes and adaptations are cynical attempts at cashing in on nostalgic fans. So what?

Be it on screen, stage, zoetrope or gossiping with your pals, stories are continually told and retold, changing with the times like an endless game of Chinese whispers. Maybe some of the more coherent criticisms are valid, but big Hollywood studios are not going to cancel a film’s release because you bitch about it online. You want to see more original properties in mainstream cinema? Then stop paying to see adaptations and spend your money on original films. If this film bombs then so be it, but money talks, bullshit walks and we’ll see what happens opening weekend.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret right here: movies aren’t magical. I say that and I literally have nothing else in my life.

Despite what some commenters seem to have convinced themselves, there is nothing mystical about film making that makes certain films sacred or untouchable. Sometimes you get lucky with the cast and crew and you make something entertaining that sticks with people, but it’s not magic. Just a little food for thought.

So what do you think? Are people going too far with their criticism of a trailer? Am I letting my crush on Melissa McCarthy influence my judgement (I don’t care what anyone says, she is a beautiful, hilarious woman)? Isn’t Mog adorable?

This week’s song is Cherry Bomb by The Runaways. Raw, visceral and unforgiving. Whoever said women can’t rock?

That’s all for now, look after yourselves and SEE YOU NEXT TUESDAY! *wink wink*

😛 xx

