hOi!!

maxresdefault (1)

It’s been a little while since my last post. I’ve been working on a few creative projects that I’ll hopefully be unveiling before the end of the year.

So, what’s happened in the news since last we spoke? Wasn’t there some kind of vote or something? Strictly Come Dancing or some bollocks?

I kid, of course. This week the US crowned a new President. Like I said last time, I haven’t followed the election closely enough to feel like I can comment on it at any great length, and even if I did I wouldn’t do that here and now because I’m fairly certain you’re all sick and tired of bloggers telling you what to think. I know I am, at any rate.

No, I won’t tell you what I think of the outcome. But I will talk to you a little about something I find a little distressing about this whole process and a trend which I find both liberating and distressing in equal fashion.

Truth is, I find myself feeling divided. On the one hand, I think it’s great that people of my generation (late 20s/early 30s) and the younger generation coming up are talking more about politics. At the same time, it’s hard to have a meaningful discussion because everyone (including myself, I’m not free from this) seems unable to do it without getting angry and dribbling into hateful rhetoric. And the physical violence we keep seeing is abhorrent. It honestly makes me embarrassed to be human.

I personally try to be all about love. It might sound corny but I think love is the greatest thing about this funny little state we call existence. Power of friendship, tolerance and respect, all that nonsense. Life is too short to spend hating each other, especially over factors we can’t control. It’s okay to disagree with each other, that’s fine. I can disagree with you on a fundamental level and still think you’re a great person.

As much as I dislike the notion, I understand there are times that violence is unavoidable and in fact appropriate, but only as a last resort and never over a disagreement about which presidential candidate is worse. The election is done now, the only thing any of us can do is try to find a way to co-exist in the world and try to find some harmony rather than being bogus.

So, with that in mind, I thought I would post some songs here that remind me that love is the strongest force around. I suppose you could call some these guilty pleasures, but personally I dislike the term because if a song gives you pleasure then who cares? Stop hating and come get your love.

If anybody has a problem with you liking something you like even if it doesn’t hurt them, tell that person to tickle your bristle and call you Al.

I love you all dear readers, regardless of your ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation or political standing. And I want you back for next time.

Until then, be excellent to each other and stay safety dance!

……

How are these puns working out for ya?

